CAPE LOOKOUT LIGHTHOUSE
Cape Lookout Lighthouse is on the south end of the Core Banks and is part of the Cape Lookout National Seashore. The first Cape Lookout lighthouse was lighted for the first time in 1812 but was inadequate. In 1859 a new 156-foot tower was built with a first-order Fresnel lens. Confederates destroyed the lens in the Civil War and it was replaced with a third-order Fresnel lens. In 1873 the tower was painted with a diamond pattern.
To reach the Cape Lookout National Seashore, take US-70 north through Beaufort. Turn at Otway and follow the signs to Harkers Island. There are several ferry services that run from Harkers Island and will take you out to the lighthouse for a fee of about $10 to $15. It takes about fifteen minutes to get to the barrier island where the ferry usually pulls up on the beach for passenger to jump out. The lighthouse is maintained by the Coast Guard and is not open to the public. The Visitor's Center, which was the light keeper's house, is open daily. The beaches and island are part of the National Seashore and are kept in their natural state. The Cape Lookout vistor center is located at 131 Charles St, Harkers Island, NC 28531. Telephone number is 252-728-2250.
More pictures of Cape Lookout Lighthouse
Return to main page
Copyright © 1998 G. L. Marler and J. A. Marler